Blind and Shade Warranties Compared by Seller (2026)
SelectBlinds gives a free 3-Year Limited Warranty and sells 5-year upgrades; The Shade Store, Hunter Douglas and 3 Day Blinds publish lifetime terms, cords at 7 years.
Blind Spec editorial deskDesk research
Published Oct 21, 2026 · 11 min read
standard · Comparisons
Which blinds and shades sellers have the best warranty, and what does each one cover? This page sets out the warranty terms of eleven sellers, read from each seller's own warranty pages on October 15, 2026 and re-read on October 20, 2026; nothing here comes from first-hand use. SelectBlinds and SmartWings are affiliate merchants of this site: we may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page. The other sellers named here do not pay this site. Home Depot and Lowe's are not included: their own pages could not be read by our tools.
The short answer. On length, the lifetime terms of The Shade Store, Hunter Douglas, 3 Day Blinds and Bali at Costco lead, though each covers cords for 7 years or less and motors for 5. SelectBlinds' free 3-Year Limited Warranty is shorter, but it sells 5-year upgrades, one of which covers damage by children and pets, and for 90 days it fixes defects free and remakes a product you are unhappy with, in the same size, at the price you paid less a further 10%. Damage by accident, children or pets is explicitly excluded by nine standard warranties.
How the warranties were compared
Each seller's own warranty or policy page, read on October 15, 2026, on seven points: how long the main term lasts; what it covers; separate terms for cords and for motors; damage by accidents, children or pets; who pays shipping or labour on a claim; how to make a claim; and who the warranty belongs to.
Eleven sellers' warranties side by side
Main terms run from 1 year at Blindster to lifetime at The Shade Store, Hunter Douglas, 3 Day Blinds and Bali (re-read 2026-10-20):
| Seller | Main term | Cords | Motors | Accident, child or pet damage | Shipping or labour on a claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SelectBlinds | 3-Year Limited, free; parts $5 after 3 years | No separate term | Parts not guaranteed beyond the motor maker's own warranty | Covered only by the paid 5-Year Unlimited | First 90 days, defects: SelectBlinds pays shipping; warranty claims: "a flat $15 return shipping charge" |
| Blinds.com | 3 years from delivery; Quick Ship products 1 year | Included, 3 years | No separate term | Excluded: "children, pets, or insects" | After 1 year, you pay shipping |
| JustBlinds | Standard, 3 years from delivery | Included, 3 years | No separate term | Excluded; the paid Deluxe adds a 3-Year Breakage Guard | After 1 year, you pay shipping |
| Blindster | 1 year from receipt; LEVOLOR products: LEVOLOR's limited lifetime | No separate term | 1 year, remotes included | Excluded; optional paid 5-Year Accident Protection | First 12 months: maker pays replacement and shipping |
| The Shade Store | Limited Lifetime, while the original purchaser owns it | 7 years | 5 years | Excluded | Free re-measure and re-install only on professionally installed products |
| Hunter Douglas | Lifetime Limited | 7 years | 5 years | Excluded | Shipping, removal and reinstallation not covered |
| Bali at Costco | Limited Lifetime for original defects, shorter periods noted | 3 years | 5 years, batteries not included | Excluded | Shipping and labour not covered |
| 3 Day Blinds | Limited Lifetime: mechanisms for the product's life, motors and remotes excepted | 7 years, with ladders | 5 years, with fabrics and remotes | Pet damage counted as wear and tear, not covered | If it installed: repairs "at no additional charge for one year", free re-install |
| Budget Blinds | Free No-Questions-Asked warranty on most products, 5 years | Not stated separately | Motorized products among the exceptions | One free repair or replacement "for any reason" | A minimal trip charge may apply |
| SmartWings | 3 years on the motor and control | Not stated | 3 years | Excluded: "accident"; children and pets not named | Not on the page read |
| Graywind | Up to 5 years | Manual products: 5 years, cords included | 5 years for smart blinds, shades and curtains; 3 for smart cellular and specialty shades | Excluded: "Accidents or extraordinary use"; "Damage from pets or insects" | On-site installation: "Paid service available"; shipping damage not covered |
SelectBlinds: 3 years free, 5 years for a fee
SelectBlinds' "FREE 3-Year Limited Warranty comes standard with every residential purchase" and covers "any defects -- i.e., something breaks, is damaged, or just plain doesn't work -- in materials and workmanship for up to three (3) years", if the product is installed as instructed. It belongs to the original purchaser and "cannot be transferred should you sell or donate the product". After 3 years parts cost $5, and "Fabric and slats/vanes are considered wearable items and are not covered after 3 years." For motorized products it says "we cannot guarantee replacement of original parts for motorized products, such as remotes and motors, beyond the manufacturer's original warranty period."
Two paid upgrades extend it. The 5-Year Limited Warranty "includes the same coverage as the 3-Year Limited Warranty and lasts two years longer". The 5-Year Unlimited covers children and pets: "your blinds become the dog's or cat's favorite play toy, we'll replace or repair them -- absolutely FREE -- no questions asked!" Prices are set per product: on one product page on 2026-10-20, the Motorized Architect Blackout Roller Shades, the upgrades showed +$50.31 and +$100.63.
SelectBlinds also promises to resolve "a defect in a product's material, workmanship or it was not made to the specifications you ordered" at no cost "for up to 90 days from the date of purchase" ("We even pay for shipping!"). If you are unhappy "for any other reason within the first 90 days", it will "remake that same product in the same size for the same great discount price you paid, plus give you an additional 10% off": a paid remake, not a free one. SelectBlinds calls its 90-day satisfaction guarantee "the industry's longest by far"; that is its own claim. Measuring mistakes are separate: on October 20, 2026, FIT Protection "can be selected at the time you order for free", after $9.99 per unit from October 12 to at least October 15. Its returns page agrees: "We offer free remakes for qualifying measuring errors through our F.I.T. Guarantee."
Making a claim. SelectBlinds' two help articles on claims disagree. One says "Online warranty claim submission isn’t available yet" and asks you to call (888) 257-1840; the other, updated 31 July 2026, says "please reach out to us via email at customercare@selectblinds.com" for orders whose ID starts with "US", and links an online claim form for orders from its older website. If its terms suit you, see SelectBlinds' current sale; free samples are the cheapest way to avoid a remake.
Blinds.com, JustBlinds and Blindster: three years or less
Blinds.com covers "Materials, operating mechanisms (including cords and ladders), and other parts" for 3 years from delivery, 1 year for products labelled "Quick Ship", for the original purchaser. It excludes "Damage from children, pets, or insects", and "After a 1 year period, the customer is responsible for any shipping costs associated with warranty repair." Its satisfaction guarantee replaces a product for style, colour or quality within 30 calendar days of delivery, "free of charge for products of equal value (no refunds offered)", limited to one replacement per product and 10 items per household per lifetime. See our comparison of SelectBlinds and Blinds.com.
JustBlinds' Standard Warranty mirrors Blinds.com's: 3 years from delivery, the same exclusion of children, pets and insects, and shipping at your cost after the first year. For "a one-time upgrade fee" its Deluxe Warranty adds a 30-day remake for measuring mistakes and a "3-Year Breakage Guard: Whether it's because of an accident, operating malfunction or just daily wear and tear, we've got you covered if your window treatment breaks."
Blindster warrants its own products "free from manufacturing defects for a period of one (1) year from the date of receipt, including motorized products and remote controls", and in those first 12 months "the manufacturer will pay to replace the warranted products and/or parts and associated shipping costs." It excludes "accidental damages", misuse and "normal wear and tear". LEVOLOR products bought there carry LEVOLOR's limited lifetime warranty, and an optional 5-Year Accident Protection replaces a product "accidentally damaged during the coverage period", at a price not shown on the policy page.
Lifetime terms: The Shade Store, Hunter Douglas, 3 Day Blinds and Bali
The Shade Store warrants its products "against defects in materials and workmanship that result in a failure to operate for as long as the original purchaser owns the product", with "Operational cords and chains, for 7 years from original installation date" and "Motorization components, for 5 years". It excludes "abuse, misuse, accidents, or relocations of product". If its own team measured and installed the product, "Re-measure and re-installation are free of charge for any warranty issues". More in our review of The Shade Store.
Hunter Douglas' Lifetime Limited Warranty covers operational cords "for 7 years from the date of purchase" and motorized components for 5 years. It does not cover "Accidental damage, misuse, or product alterations" or "Shipping charges, or the cost of removal and reinstallation".
3 Day Blinds extends its warranty "to the original buyer, with proof of purchase". "Operating mechanisms (other than motors and remote controls) and components are covered for the lifetime of the product", "Cords and ladders are covered for seven years" and "Fabrics, motors and remote controls are covered for five years." Its list of what is not covered starts with normal wear and tear, whose examples include "fraying, stains, pet damage".
Bali, sold through Costco's storefront, covers "Original defects in materials or workmanship for as long as the original purchaser owns the product (unless shorter periods are noted below)": operating cords for three years, and motorization components for five, "batteries not included". It excludes "abuse, accidents, alterations, misuse" and measuring or installing errors, and does not pay shipping or labour to take a product down, re-measure or re-install.
Budget Blinds: no questions asked, with exceptions
Budget Blinds includes a free "No-Questions-Asked (NQA) Warranty on the majority of all new window treatments". Its terms: "If, for any reason, within five years from the date of purchase, your product should be damaged after the point of installation, the manufacturer will provide a 'no questions asked', one-time repair or replacement, free of charge." It "covers the product only, and a minimal trip charge may apply", and "Exceptions apply for some manufacturers, motorized, automated and exterior products." For Enlightened Style products the NQA warranty is lifetime.
Motorized shades: SmartWings and Graywind
SmartWings "offers a 3-year warranty on the motor and control", and because its products are custom-made it "can not refund, exchange or remake unless it is defective". Graywind offers "up to 5 years of protection"; for its smart blinds and shades the 5-year term "Includes motor, remote, app control systems, and built-in battery (if applicable)", for orders placed on or after October 30, 2025. See our review of SmartWings.
Damage by children, pets or accidents
SelectBlinds, JustBlinds, Blindster and Budget Blinds publish a cover for it, and the first three charge for it:
- SelectBlinds: the paid 5-Year Unlimited Warranty, for children and pets, "no questions asked".
- JustBlinds: the paid Deluxe Warranty's 3-Year Breakage Guard, for "an accident, operating malfunction or just daily wear and tear".
- Blindster: the optional paid 5-Year Accident Protection.
- Budget Blinds: free, once within five years, "for any reason", with its exceptions for some manufacturers and for motorized, automated and exterior products.
Where SelectBlinds is weaker, and where it leads
Weaker: its free term is 3 years against the lifetime terms of four sellers; fabric is not covered after 3 years; its two help articles disagree on how to claim; and after the first 90 days a warranty claim carries a flat $15 return shipping charge, while Blinds.com and JustBlinds charge warranty-repair shipping only after the first year and Blindster's maker pays it for the first 12 months. Stronger: its children-and-pets cover lasts 5 years and is priced on the product page when you order; parts cost $5 after the 3 years; and a change of mind can be remade within 90 days at the price paid less 10%, against Blinds.com's 30 days for a free replacement.
Verdict
For the longest headline term, The Shade Store, Hunter Douglas, 3 Day Blinds and Bali at Costco publish lifetime warranties, with cords at 3 to 7 years and motors at 5. For a household with children or pets, SelectBlinds' paid 5-Year Unlimited and Budget Blinds' free one-time NQA are the clearest covers. SelectBlinds' free 3-Year Limited Warranty is shorter than the lifetime terms; its strongest point is the 5-year children-and-pets cover, priced on the product page.
Where to buy
- $60.99Check price
SelectBlinds — Custom Blinds & Shades, Current Sale
Made-to-measure blinds and shades: SelectBlinds’ current sales and promo codes. On October 20, 2026, FIT Protection, a remake if you mis-measure, could be added free at checkout, and its Cordless Light Filtering Cellular Shades page showed $60.99.
Straight disclosure —Some links on this page are affiliate links — we may earn a commission when you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict.
Article FAQ
Which custom blinds sellers have the best warranty?
On length, The Shade Store, Hunter Douglas, 3 Day Blinds and Bali at Costco, all with lifetime terms; on damage by children or pets, SelectBlinds' paid 5-Year Unlimited and Budget Blinds' free one-time No-Questions-Asked warranty. No single seller leads on every point.
What does the SelectBlinds warranty cover and how do I make a claim?
The free 3-Year Limited Warranty covers defects in materials and workmanship for up to 3 years if the product was installed as instructed; parts cost $5 after that, and fabric and slats are not covered after 3 years. To claim, one help article says to call Customer Service at (888) 257-1840; another says to email customercare@selectblinds.com for orders whose ID starts with "US" (October 20, 2026).
How do the warranties on motorized blinds from Blinds.com compare with SelectBlinds?
Blinds.com's warranty page gives one term for materials, operating mechanisms and parts: 3 years from delivery, 1 year on Quick Ship products. SelectBlinds covers its products for 3 years but does not guarantee motor and remote parts beyond the motor maker's own warranty period.
Does any blinds warranty cover pet damage?
Three do: SelectBlinds' paid 5-Year Unlimited, JustBlinds' paid Breakage Guard and Budget Blinds' free one-time NQA; Blindster's paid Accident Protection covers accidental damage without naming pets. Blinds.com, JustBlinds' Standard, 3 Day Blinds and Graywind exclude pet damage.
Sources
- Warranty (3-Year Limited, 5-year upgrades) — SelectBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Guarantees (90-day satisfaction guarantee, FIT Protection) — SelectBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- How do I file a warranty claim? — SelectBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Returns & Exchanges Policy (help article, updated 04 December 2024) — SelectBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Motorized Architect Blackout Roller Shades (warranty upgrade prices) — SelectBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Product warranty — Blinds.com (accessed 2026-10-20)
- 100% Satisfaction Guarantee — Blinds.com (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Policies (Standard and Deluxe Warranty) — JustBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Policies (warranty, Accident Protection) — Blindster (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Guarantee and warranty — The Shade Store (accessed 2026-10-20)
- What's covered under the Hunter Douglas Lifetime Limited Warranty — Hunter Douglas (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Bali warranty information — Costco (Bali storefront) (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Warranty (No-Questions-Asked) — Budget Blinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Warranty (Limited Lifetime Product Warranty) — 3 Day Blinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Warranty and guarantee — SmartWings (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Orders, return and warranty — Graywind (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Returns (free remakes for qualifying measuring errors through the F.I.T. Guarantee) — SelectBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Help centre: How do I file a warranty claim? (email for new-platform orders; updated 31 July 2026) — SelectBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Woven wood shades (Deluxe Warranty Breakage Guard wording) — JustBlinds (accessed 2026-10-20)